Rest Day Recipe-21 Day Challenge

We are starting the last week of our 21 day challenge. It has been a great experience so far. On a personal note, the last day, Saturday, will be the start of something new for me. This challenge couldn’t have come at a better time; I needed these 21 days to transform my mind for what is coming next in my life. I will continue to host 7pm workouts via Google Hangouts for any of those who want to continue on the road to health and fitness. I would love to hear more about your loss in inches/weight as we continue with our personal fitness goals.

Today, on our much-needed day of rest, I have a great and easy recipe. It is actually kid friendly, like most of my recipes. Side Note: It is so important to teach our children at a young age not only how to live a healthy life but how to expand their palates. But children’s taste buds are a topic (blog post) for another day. So, here enjoy this recipe and let me know if you like it!

Potato Skins

Ingredients:

6 potatoes, baked

1/2 cup of cooked beans (your choice, black beans go very well)

1/2 cup of cooked corn

1/4 cup of onions, finely chopped

1/4 cup of tomatoes

1/4 cup of cheese, shredded (I use sharp cheddar)

1 tbsp of olive oil

Garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste

Plain greek yogurt (additional)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Directions:

Once baked potatoes are cooled, slit them horizontally. Carve out a nice size chunk to leave a depression in the potato. In a saute pan, heat olive oil add onions to allow caramelization (I usually cooked the onions on medium high for about a minute adding a little salt). Lower pan temperature, add beans and corn, sprinkle garlic powder, salt and pepper as needed. Simmer for 5 minutes. Add mix to already scooped out potatoes, place in oven for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and add tomatoes and cheese. I like to dip the potatoes in ranch but to keep it healthy I substituted greek yogurt. Serve the potato skins hot!

You will have left over potato chunks. I have a few suggestions; hash browns for the next morning, your classic mashed potatoes or add it back to the bean and corn mix.

Leave a Reply

