Quick Smoothie-21 Day Challenge

Whenever I mention the amount of calories I need in one day to someone, the first question they asked is, “how do you have time to eat so much?” I’m not going to lie, consuming 3,000 calories a day isn’t always easy, especially since I do not eat out. I may go to a restaurant on the weekends, but that’s it. All my meals are home cooked. But it doesn’t have to be that difficult. Today, I noticed I was in a calorie deficit around 4pm. I know I still had dinner and a snack to go, but I did not want to eat a bulk amount of calories so late in the day. (Motto: breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince, dinner like a pauper). I had to get in a good amount of calories before dinner and I absolutely did not feel like eating! I know that’s weird but by 4pm, I’ve already consumed 2 meals plus 4 snacks. So I decided to whip up a quick smoothie. The only problem is, I have no idea the measurements for anything. But I can estimate. It is only 4 ingredients; yogurt, protein mix, oatmeal and strawberries. All together, a little more than 500 calories.

CAM00490

I used about 2 cups of yogurt, 1/2 cup of protein mix, 1/2 cup of oatmeal and about 10 blended strawberries. The yogurt is a vanilla flavor. If your yogurt is plain you can always add vanilla abstract or honey. I blended the oatmeal and protein mix first, then added the yogurt and basically topped it with blended strawberries. Easy peasy!  If you always have yogurt or milk in your fridge a smoothie can always be an emergency substitute for a snack. Personally, all staple meals I try to actually eat. The best way to absorb the nutrients in food is to mechanically break the food down yourself, starting with mastication in your mouth and then allowing your body to do the rest. But I do know the struggles of getting those extra calories in, especially when on a high caloric diet. And even then I think I still may be short 200 or so calories for today, but tomorrow is another day. And as of this moment, I have already started planning my meals for tomorrow. Cook the bulk of your meat ahead of time! There are so many ways to consume the amount of calories needed in a day. Plan ahead. I hope everyone is finishing this challenge strong. I will have some new ideas on ‘winter readiness’ coming soon! Staying fit through the winter months can be difficult. But we’ll do it together!

 

Leave a Reply

