Cleanliness Is Next To Godliness

Okay. That is not even a biblical statement but we have all heard it. In all honesty I am just too busy to even write a full weekly post at this point. All day I tried to complete the resistance post geared towards women, I completed about 3 sentences. Just not enough time in the day. Since sitting down at my computer and typing out a full post (not including the amount of research I do) is not possible for me right now, I will be bombarding you with inspirational quotes and pictures.  However, I am always up for another challenge. And I have always received positive feedback when I post one. So, I have an eat clean challenge. It last for 5 weeks and it is easy.

5 week clean challenge

Now, one thing that I am always asked when I post a challenge or talk about clean eating with anyone, “do you think it’s okay if I eat ______?” If you have to question it or doesn’t feel “right” eating it, then don’t. Being healthy is about you becoming a better person. Do not be concerned with what other people are eating or not eating.

Since I am getting this post out, I might as well tell you more about myself. Based on my “look”, no one would ever think I battled an eating disorder. And no, it wasn’t anorexia or a bulimia, I felt like I knew better than that. But I used to be an over-eater. The majority of my calories I consumed happened behind closed doors. I would promote fitness and healthy eating during the day and then consume 1000+ calories behind my dorm room door. It all started when I was about 13, I lived off of McDonalds during the summer. I was using food to self medicate grief I was feeling. I have always been a bigger eater but not a big talker. After a huge loss in my life, instead of talking about it, I used food to make me feel better. But because I didn’t have the genetics to become obese at that age and I was still pretty active, no one seemed to be worried about how I ate. This obsession with late night and junk food carried on until college. The freshman 15 turned into the freshman 35. But once again, my body shape did not make it seem like I was “unhealthy”, but I felt it. Through and through. I could barely breathe, I fell into a bout of depression, my ankles were always swollen, I was not in a good place. When I decided to make a change and take a control of my diet, people continually told me, “for what? You look good.” Yes, no lie, I look damn good. I filled out my clothes, had a little shape. But I didn’t feel good. And I never want to feel like that again. All I am trying to say is, make a change for you, first!  Once you realize you are worth feeling 100% all the time, being fit and healthy will no longer have to be “challenge” but a lifestyle change. Good luck!

4 thoughts on “Cleanliness Is Next To Godliness

  1. Great post and thanks for sharing your story. I think a lot of people have issues over-eating, but it isn’t talk about as much as it should be.

  2. Sounds like me – and if you don’t get a handle on it early, it balloons as you get older. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

